Uh oh...

It appears that you're using a severely outdated version of Safari on Windows. Many features won't work correctly, and functionality can't be guaranteed. Please try viewing this website in Edge, Mozilla, Chrome, or another modern browser. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused!

Read More
Northwest Fayetteville
Get directions
Northwest Travel 0

TheatreSquared building wins Architecture Award


A new building in downtown Fayetteville picked up some national recognition for its unique architecture.

TheatreSquared officials last week announced that their new facility, located at 477 W Spring St, picked up one of only 120 American Architecture Awards given in 2020.

According to the website, the award honors “new buildings designed and constructed by American architects in the U.S. and abroad and by international architects for buildings designed and built in the United States.”

The building is one of just two in the nation recognized in the entertainment category along with the Searle Visitor Center Lincoln Park Zoo.

TheatreSquared’s building was designed by Marvel Architects and Charcoalblue, and it was supported by a Walton Family Foundation Design Excellence Program grant.

TheatreSquared building wins Architecture Award

Photography: George Maka and Timothy Hursley

“We’re thrilled to announce that Northwest Arkansas’s theatre has been awarded the prestigious 2020 American Architecture Award, honoring the best new buildings designed and constructed by American architects in the U.S. and abroad,” TheatreSquared executive director Martin Miller and artistic director Bob Ford said in a statement. “Even in the midst of a global crisis, the building now shines as a beacon for what a spirited community can do together when we work together for a common purpose. The nation is taking note.”

The American Architecture Awards were founded in 1994, and organized by The Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design and The European Center for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies and Metropolitan Arts Press.

The Jury for the American Architecture Awards was held at Thessaloniki, Greece in September 2020, and included a selected team of architects, designers and communication experts.

TheatreSquared building wins Architecture Award

Photography: George Maka and Timothy Hursley

TheatreSquared’s new home was completed in 2019, just in time for their 14th season. The design team for the project included Jonathan Marvel, Lissa So, Zachary Griffin, Ariel Poliner, Siyuan Ye, Enrique Ramon, Mabel Plasencia, and Bell Ying Cai.

Continue Reading Theatresquared at Fayetteville Flyer

Meet the

Learn more about .

A little about .

Dustin Bartholomew is the co-founder of Fayetteville Flyer, an online publication covering all things news, art and life in Fayetteville, Arkansas since 2007. A graduate of the Department of English at the University of Arkansas and a lifelong resident of the area, he still lives in east Fayetteville with his son Hudson, daughter Evelyn, his wife Brandy, and his two dogs Lily and Steve. On occasion, he tickles the ivories in a local band called The Good Fear.

Read more stories by Fayetteville Flyer - Dustin Bartholomew


Visit Fayetteville Flyer - Dustin Bartholomew’s Website

Like this story? Read more from Fayetteville Flyer - Dustin Bartholomew


Join the Conversation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Submit a photo

We select one featured photo per week, but we show many more in our gallery. Be sure to fill out all the fields in order to have yours selected.
  • Accepted file types: jpg, png.
Regions Topics

What are you looking for?

Explore Arkansas

Central Arkansas

Little Rock, Conway, Searcy, Benton, Heber Springs

Northwest Arkansas

Fayetteville, Bentonville, Springdale, Fort Smith

South Arkansas

Hot Springs, Pine Bluff, Texarkana, Arkadelphia

Explore by Topic